619-880-5474 / 858-688-7830


AWARD WINNING SAN DIEGO CRIMINAL ATTORNEY

Felony DUI lawyer

San Diego Felony DUI lawyer has track record for obtaining reduced criminal penalties Felony DUI charges generally are filed by the District Attorney only when an arrest involves specific serious circumstances. In California, most DUI arrests result in misdemeanor charges. This holds for even a second or third arrest for driving under the influence of alcohol (DUI or DWI – driving while intoxicated).

However, a fourth drunk-driving arrest within 10 years of three prior DUI convictions almost always generates a felony DUI charge. And, felony charges likely will result if the DA believes that one or more people were injured or killed because the arrestee was driving under the influence of alcohol or drugs.

If you or someone close to you has been arrested for a fourth DUI, or a drunk-driving accident that involves injury or death, call a San Diego criminal defense attorney who specializes in assisting clients with felony DUI charges. The lawyer will provide counsel that may reduce the severe penalties that come with a felony conviction.

The criminal defense attorneys at Ross Law Center have extensive experience working with clients facing felony DUI charges in San Diego, Vista, Chula Vista, and other San Diego County communities.

Other considerations also may result in felony charges for a DUI arrest. The blood alcohol level at the time of the arrest will be a factor. Your driving record may be considered: have you had a number of traffic citations, or been at fault for one or more driving-related accidents that did not involve alcohol?

Felony DUI attorneys at Ross Law Center are familiar with these situations, and are prepared to provide a strong defense. Our experienced, award-winning lawyers often are able to obtain a plea bargain that reduces a felony DUI charge to a misdemeanor.

In regard to penalties, there is a substantial difference between a felony DUI conviction and a misdemeanor drunk-driving conviction. A felony conviction may result in extremely heavy fines and up to life imprisonment if the case involves severe injury or death.

Penalties for a fourth DUI that did not involve an injury accident, penalties can include:

  • Up to three years in a California State Prison.
  • Fines of up to $1,000.
  • Loss of your driver’s license for four years.
  • 18-month alcohol education program.
  • A DMV designation as a Habitual Traffic Offender, or HTO.

In summary, someone arrested for DUI likely will face felony charges if

  • This is the fourth DUI arrest within 10 years of the first.
  • The arrestee is believed to have caused an accident that resulted in serious injury or death.

All DUI arrests must be taken very seriously. If the circumstances point to felony charges, do not hesitate to contact Ross Law Center. Our criminal defense lawyers specialize in assisting people arrested for DUI in San Diego, Vista, El Cajon, Oceanside, Chula Vista, and other communities throughout San Diego County.

Get Expert
Help Now

AVVO Review

DUI Attorney Review

NAJpremier1002016

2015 Premier 100 Seal AATA small